LUCITOPIA RESIDENCY PROGRAM

 

Produced by XIAMEN LUCITOPIA CULTURE CO., LTD and co-curated by C-PLATFORM and MEXDIA Lab, the Lucitopia Residency Program has special cooperation with GREEN ART LAB ALLIANCE (EU) and China Residencies. Distinct from other art residencies, the Lucitopia Residency Program is a comprehensive residency program that welcomes interdisciplinary and cross-media practitioners from different backgrounds to explore the possibilities of a specific space or area.

Participants can be artists, designers, curators, geographers, biologists, anthropologists, naturalists or, indeed, researchers in other fields. Residency program participants live, share and create together during their period in residence, acquainting themselves and building a close relationship with the environment and its specific context while at the same time carrying out cross-cultural, ideological and academic interactions, innovations and encounters.

The Lucitopia Residency Program will take place within the context of a range of urban environments, rural areas and other geographical localities. By focusing on the characteristics of specific areas with particular and varied issues, more diverse thought processes and explorations of varying perspectives will be carried out.

 

 

 

LUCITOPIA RESIDENCY PROGRAM · IN THE COUNTRYSIDE

 

The ecological and environmental problems caused by global climate change, as well as unbalanced relationships in the development of cities, villages and the natural environment have been causes of concern and reflection for those in various fields. Within this current climate the Lucitopia Residency Program · In the Countryside invites interdisciplinary and cross-media practitioners, researchers and experts, from the perspective of their own research areas, to participate in discussions concerning village life and issues relating to the natural environment. Such discussions will include issues of living and working in the countryside, the possibilities for the revival of villages, and opportunities for sharing in the city context.

The Lucitopia Residency Program allows participants to meet, exchange, achieve cross-border cooperation and interact with local villagers. Participants will study and explore through investigation, practice, presentation and sharing from the perspective of interdisciplinary research, tracing the possibility of integrating ecology, science and technology in the human context. They will also fully explore the potential value of the region from a multi-layered perspective, discussing new ideas and opportunities in sustainable rural and ecological development. 

At the end of the rural residency, participants have the opportunity to be invited to give lectures in urban public locations, such as community spaces, universities, research institutes and creativity conferences. They will be able to share their thoughts and experiences of their time in the countryside as well as their visions for future potential, and in so doing will encourage feedback and inspire wider urban debate and focus on rural practices.

 

 

 

LUCITOPIA TOWN · ZIXI QINGLIANG MOUNTAIN

 

The first host venue accommodating our Lucitopia Residency Program · In the Countryside lies in  Lucitopia Town, Zixi Qingliang Mountain. Located on the Zhuxi Forest Farm of Zixi County close to Fuzhou in Jiangxi Province, Lucitopia Town encompasses Qingliang Mountain National Forest Park as well as several villages. Surrounded by mountains and rivers with outstanding ecological conditions, a pleasant natural environment and a conscientious population of local villagers, it maintains the identity of a “creative industry featured town”, aiming to provide a habitable town characterized by ecological civilization and creative industry.

Lucitopia Town provides participants with a unique experience to discover their inner “spirit of nature” in an environment where people and nature complement each other. In the contemporary cultural context, they will explore the current relationship between man, nature, society and civilization, looking for diverse modern transformational and innovation approaches to traditional culture.

SPECIFICATIONS ON THE PROGRAM APPLICATION

 

1 Eligible Applicants

You may be an artist or a curator whose focus could be on, for instance, painting, video, sound, performance, installation or cross-media; or you may be a designer focusing on architecture, objects, fashion or food; or you may be a researcher focusing on nature, biology, agriculture, technology or on literature and the humanities. Since the working environment of this residency program occurs predominantly in rural areas and in nature, the recommended age for the applicant is between 25 – 55.

 

2 Application and Residency Dates

• Open application throughout the year.

• There will be five residency periods in 2019. (March-April, May-June, July-August, September-October, November-December)

• Each residency period hosts between two to four resident participants for a duration of two months.

• The first residency commences on March 1, 2019.

 

3 Project Support

• Based on each applicant’s specific residency plan, we will provide residency funding ranging from RMB 2,000 to 20,000.

• Open-air venue for creation in either the natural environment or in the village; an indoor shared studio of about 100㎡ (equipped with internet, photocopier, laser engraving and 3D printing facilities).

• Offer of service for organizing and coordinating project activities during the residency, limited edition poster design, social media release and publicity.

• Offer of Chinese-English translations related to the creation and daily activities during the residency.

• We will offer transportation services within the residency area during the residency.

• We will offer maximum five days of hotel accommodation and reception in the city: Staff will assist international participants during transfer in Xiamen for two of these days before the village residency (domestic participants travel directly to the village without transfer). The remaining three days of accommodation will be arranged so that all residency participants can share their residency experiences in Xiamen and other cities. 

 

4 Cost Borne by Individual Participant

• Transportation fee to and from Lucitopia Town (Fuzhou or Nancheng Train Station) for both domestic and foreign participants.

•  Visa fee (including any visa extension fee during the residency period).

• Travel insurance (participants are required to provide proof of travel insurance covering their residency period after confirming their participation in the residency project).

• Accommodation during the village residency (the host venue will offer accommodation of different standards to suit the various needs of participants, who will also enjoy special discount).

• The cost of purchasing materials (such as paint, consumables, production, transportation and shipping) required for creation and manufacturing during the village residency.

•  Personal travel expenses.

 

Residence Facilities of the Venue

• Idyllic village with a natural ecological environment and pristine mountain life.

• Lucitopia Creative Center, a multi-purpose space for studios, lectures, seminars and presentations.

• Lucitopia Inn, a container design hotel in nature, each room being approximately 15㎡ and being fully equipped.

 

6 Application Process

• The applicant submits the application form and other required documents by email to the only official email address: info@c-platform.org.

• We will discuss and evaluate the applicants based on the documents they submit before our final decision on their eligibility to participate.

• Applicants will receive a notification email for the result of their application within 15 business days.

• The selected applicants will provide required follow-up documents (these will be specified in the notification email) .

 

7 Documents Required for the Application

• Recent Chinese / English resume  (PDF format) .

• Portfolio (personal portfolio, web page or PDF document; for image data or media files, please attach a web link) .

• Residency program application form (Form download.doc / Form download.pdf) .

 

 

 

Produced by XIAMEN LUCITOPIA CULTURE CO., LTD

Curated by C-PLATFORM,  MEXDIA LAB

Special Partner: GREEN ART LAB ALLIANCE (EU), China Residencies

Venue Host: LUCITOPIA TOWN, ZIXI QINGLIANG MOUNTAIN

 

XIAMEN LUCITOPIA CULTURE CO., LTD reserves the all rights of final interpretation for the content and items herein

鹿栖驻地计划

 

鹿栖驻地计划由厦门鹿栖文化有限公司出品,C-PLATFORM艺术平台和MEXDIA实验室共同策划,GALA绿色艺术实验室联盟(欧洲)中国艺术交流特别合作。鹿栖驻地计划与通常意义上的艺术驻地有所不同,它是一个由跨学科、跨专业、跨媒介等不同背景的实践者共同参与,探讨特定空间场域可能性的综合性驻地计划。

参与者可以是艺术家、设计师、策展人;也可以是地理学家、生物学家、人类学家、博物学家;及其它领域的研究者。驻地参与者在一段时间内共同生活、分享与创作,深入其中并结合具体场域的环境和语境,与之产生紧密的关联,跨界进行思想上、学科上的碰撞、互动与创新。

鹿栖驻地计划将与不同城市空间、乡村场域、及其它地理环境结合生成,通过聚焦具体的场域特点和问题诉求,展开更为多元的思考和不同维度的探索。

 

 

 

鹿栖驻地计划 · 在乡村

 

面对全球气候变化带来的生态环境问题,以及城市、乡村与自然三者的失衡发展关系,愈加引发当下各界的关注和思考。“鹿栖驻地计划·在乡村”正是基于以上背景,邀约跨学科、跨专业、跨媒介背景的工作者、研究员、专家,结合自身研究领域共同参与乡村、自然议题的讨论和分享,在乡村自然场域中生活工作,结合在城市分享的形式与人们探讨乡村再生的新可能。

鹿栖驻地计划将在乡村场域中聚集交流、跨界合作,与当地村民互动。从考察、研究、实践到展示分享,以交叉学科的角度去研究和探索,寻找生态、科技与人文相结合的可能性;以多元的视角,充分挖掘区域的潜在价值,探讨乡村与生态可持续发展的新思路、新维度。

在乡村驻地结束之后,参与者将有机会被邀请到包括社区空间、大学院校、研究机构、创想大会等城市公共场域进行演讲,分享其在乡野的思考和对于未来的想象,收获更多声音并启发更多城市智慧关注乡村实践。

 

 

 

鹿栖小镇 · 资溪清凉山

 

鹿栖驻地计划·在乡村首个合作目的地位于鹿栖小镇·资溪清凉山。鹿栖小镇(Lucitopia Town)位于中国江西省抚州市资溪县株溪林场,内有清凉山国家森林公园和若干田园村落。在山水之间的鹿栖小镇,生态优越,环境宜人,民风淳朴。它以“创意产业特色小镇”为基本定位,以创建生态文明小镇、创意产业小镇、宜居生活小镇为发展目标。

鹿栖小镇为参与者在人与自然相辅相成的环境中,寻找心中的“山水精神”提供一次别样的体验。在当代的文化语境下,去探讨人与自然、社会、文明的新型关系,从多种角度寻找传统文化的现代性转化和创新方法。

项目申请细则

 

1 申请对象

你可以是从事绘画、影像、声音、行为、装置、跨媒体的艺术家、策展人;或是来自建筑、物件、时尚、食物等专业方向的设计师,或是专注自然、生物、农业、科技、人文等领域的研究人员。(由于本驻地计划多在乡野自然环境中工作,建议申请者年龄为25 – 55岁)

 

2 申请与驻地时间

• 全年开放申请

• 2019全年共分5期(3-4,5-6, 7-8,9-10,11-12月)

• 每期驻地人数2-4位,每位参与者驻地为期两个月

• 首批驻地开始时间:2019年3月1日

 

3 项目支持

• 根据申请者具体申报的驻地计划方案,我们将提供2000 – 20000元不等的驻地资助。

• 大自然里或村落中的露天创作场域,以及约100㎡的室内共享工作室(含网络、影印、激光雕刻、3D打印等创作设施)

• 提供驻地交流期间的项目活动组织协调,限量海报设计及社交媒体发布宣传

• 提供驻地交流期间与驻地创作、生活相关的中英翻译

• 我们将提供驻地交流期间的驻留区域内的交通服务

• 我们将最多提供5天城市酒店住宿接待: 其中两天将有工作人员协助国际参与者在乡村驻地之前的厦门中转(国内参与者直接前往无需中转);另三天将安排所有驻地参与者在厦门或其他城市进行驻地分享

 

4 个人承担

• 国内外参与者所在地往返于鹿栖小镇(抚州或南城动车站)的交通费

• 签证费(包含驻地期间的延期签证费用)

• 旅行保险(参与者确认参与驻地项目后需提供驻留期间旅行保险凭证)

• 乡村驻地期间的食宿费用(目的地将提供不同的食宿标准,以供参与者不同的需求选择,并享受特别折扣礼遇)

• 乡村驻地期间创作所需的各项材料的采买与制作费用,如颜料、耗材、制作,及其产生的交通运输、搬运费用等

• 个人其他旅行花费

 

5 驻地生活设施

• 田园村落,有着天然的生态环境和质朴的山间生活

• 鹿栖创想中心,兼工作室、讲座,研讨会和展示的多功能空间

• LUCITOPIA Inn,在大自然中的集装箱设计酒店,房间约15㎡,设备齐全

 

6 申请流程

• 申请者通过邮件提交申请表格与所需材料,官方指定唯一邮箱:info@c-platform.org

• 我们将根据申请者提交的材料进行评议,决定入选资格

• 申请者将在15个工作日内收到申请结果通知邮件

• 入选的申请者提供后续所需资料(通知邮件中将具体说明)

 

7 申请所需材料

• 中/英文个人最新简历(PDF格式)

• 作品集(个人作品集网页或PDF格式文档,影像资料或媒体文件请附上网络链接)

• 驻地计划申请表申请表下载.doc /  申请表下载.pdf

 

 

 

出品:厦门鹿栖文化有限公司

策划:C-PLATFORM艺术平台、MEXDIA实验室

特别合作伙伴:GALA绿色艺术实验联盟(欧洲)中国艺术交流

目的地合作方:鹿栖小镇·资溪清凉山

 

本项目最终解释权归属厦门鹿栖文化有限公司所有