COSMOPOLITAN CHICKEN PROJECT

C-PLATFORM × Koen Vanmechelen

 

Project Description

 

The CCP has created crossbreeds that defy expectations. The Cosmopolitan Chicken Research Project (CC®P) studies them and confirmed Vanmechelen’s assumptions of the genetic enrichment through crossbreeding. Over the years, Vanmechelen’s hybrids have shown to be more resilient, live longer, be less susceptible to diseases, and exhibit less aggressive behaviour than their parental flock, making a clear case for the importance of genetic diversity.

 

For his installation Arena de Evolución Koen Vanmechelen organized talks with an international group of scientists during the Havana Biennial in 2015. This led to the insight that the diversity of the Cosmopolitan Chicken must be returned to the local, often vulnerable, communities who are at the origin of the many breeds of chicken. Combining the global and the local, crossing diversity with productivity, enables a new, sustainable evolution. That is the Planetary Community Chicken, or PCC.

 

Every PCC-generation is a cross between the latest generation of Cosmopolitan roosters and local, commercial hens. These chickens absorb the genetic pool of the CCP rooster and produce vital community chickens who can provide the communities it lives in with healthy eggs. The time is now.

 

The pressure to feed the world is only increasing. Livestock ability to cope with climate change, the security of food supplies is threatened by many factors, resilience to new diseases, and adaptability to harsh conditions become increasingly important. Maintaining and enhancing diversity will be critical to ensure adaptation potential in times of uncertainty. Nevertheless, in reality, diversity goals typically compete poorly against priorities of productivity, short term efficiency and cultural acceptability, resulting in a continuous cycle of genetic erosion. Current breeding systems, where species are deprived of natural selection processes, have resulted in species that are highly susceptible to disease, having lost their genetic resistance and ability to adapt. Developing the idea of food system resilience and consider how this could be implemented through stakeholder participation to ensure food security for everyone, Resilience is conceptualized from a holistic perspective, as encompassing the complexity of whole food systems, including social, economic and biophysical processes operating at many scales. It presents the opportunity to eradicate weaknesses and build capacities in the food system while dealing with future uncertainty. (Credits to Food system relicense: Defining the concept)

 

Even in richer countries the sudden halt of food supplies through calamities, wars, riots or climate change can lead to much misery. The need for food security and food independency of traditional industrial supply has played a pivotal role in the growing resurgence of small-scale agriculture, from raising homegrown vegetables to homebred animals.

 

Every new crossbreed hatches in galleries and museums, spaces which invite public dialogue.

 

Experimental labs are currently based in Belgium, Harare (Zimbabwe), and Addis Ababa (Ethiopia). The animals bring new diversity and food security to different urban communities. With this project, Vanmechelen takes the next step in positioning art categorically where it belongs: in the middle of society, engaged with people, always committed.

 

Serving as a metaphor for humanity and our relationship with the biological and cultural diversity of the earth, Vanmechelen’s work fits comfortably alongside that of Chido Govera – a Zimbabwean social entrepreneur and activist who he worked closely with to develop an ecosystem of chickens and mushrooms in which mushrooms are fed to chickens and the chicken waste is used to fertilise mushrooms. Called the Mushroom, Egg, Chicken, Camelids project (or MECC), it explores whether substances from one organism can migrate to the organism of another species.

 

At the Design Indaba conference 2017,Vanmechelen brought the MECC project to life on stage, involving Govera and scientist Jean-Jacques Cassiman. Through this propagation, he aims to show how man is part of the planetary superorganism and demonstrate our biocultural connection with other species.

 

“The beauty of the project is that it is about freedom,” Vanmechelen says. “If a chicken from Belgium breeds with one from France, the result is completely free. We are not selecting them for the best genetics and we are not inseminating them. We give them freedom in breeding. It is the opposite of trying to create an überchicken. It is about open genetics and you don’t know if the result will be brilliant or not. It is a metaphor for human existence and about freedom.”

 

 

Related Information

 

The Belgian artist Koen Vanmechelen is an internationally acclaimed conceptual artist. His work explores the importance of bio-cultural diversity, identity and community. He is best known for his Cosmopolitan Chicken Project (CCP) in which he cross-breeds domesticated chickens from different countries as an allegorical and aesthetic statement about the way in which diversity can shape the global cultural and genetic mix. The artist’s scientific collaborations around the project have earned him numerous awards including the Golden Nica Hybrid Art award in 2013. Vanmechelen has presented his work on almost every continent and is a regular contributor to the Venice Biennale. From spring 2018, his headquarters is at LABIOMISTA, meaning literally, mix of life, a former public zoo in the city of Genk that Vanmechelen is transforming into a living laboratory where culture, nature and humanity find a new more sustainable balance.

 

Pedigree – Cosmopolitan Chicken Project © Koen Vanmechelen, 2019
Planetary Community Chicken at De Hoev (BE), 2016 © Koen Vanmechelen
Cosmopolitan Chicken Project, Dakart, Biennial of Senegal, 2010 © Koen Vanmechelen
Date

2018年12月18日

行星鸡舍计划

C-PLATFORM × 科恩•凡麦克伦

 

项目介绍

 

比利时艺术家 科恩•凡麦克伦是一个位享誉国际的概念型艺术家。他的作品更多的注重于生物多样性,身份和社会性。他最出名的作品就是行星鸡舍计划(CCP),在这个计划中,他将来自不同国家的驯养鸡进行杂交繁育,在这个有寓意性和远瞻性的作品中,令人们深思生物多样是如何影响全球文化和遗传学的。

 

科恩围绕CCP计划的科学研究合作为他赢得了无数奖项,其中包括2013年的Golden Nica Hybrid艺术奖(金尼卡奖,属于电子艺术大奖三大奖项其中一项,全球最为知名且历史久远的艺术大奖之一)。凡麦克伦的作品几乎在每个大洲上都展示过,并且他是威尼斯双年展的固定嘉宾。自2018年春季起,他的研究重点会转移到La Biomista美术馆,Genk前公共动物园,凡麦克伦正在将这里转化为一个生存实验室,在这里,文化、自然和人类找到了 一种新的可持续发展的平衡。

 

即使在一些发达国家,因为灾难、战争、骚乱或气候变化而导致食品供应链出现断层也会导致许多家庭的苦难。传统工业供应链中的食品安全和食品独立性在小规模的农业复兴中发挥了十分关键的作用,从种植本土蔬菜等农作物到家禽养殖都有体现。

 

与此同时,其他的实验室将设在比利时、哈拉雷(津巴布韦)和哈瓦那(古巴)。这些计划的杂交鸡将为这些实验室所在城市的生物社区带来许多的多样性且可以进一步保证饮食链条的运行。每个实验室的杂交鸡都将接受项目内的科学研究。通过这个项目,科恩认为艺术源于我们的社会生活,与人的互动之中。所以该计划的步骤大抵如下:每年一直来自CCP计划的杂交公鸡会和一只正常产蛋的母鸡进行繁育,它们下一代的小鸡就会从CCP公鸡庞大的基因库中提取更加强大的基因,从而可以成为一只更健康的新品种,为其生活的社区提供健康的鸡蛋。

 

科恩的工作作为人类与地球生物和文化的多样性关系的体现,他开始与一位津巴布韦的社会企业家Chido Govera密切合作,共同开发鸡和蘑菇的生态系统。蘑菇用来喂鸡,鸡的排泄物用于给蘑菇施肥。这个系统的全称为Mushroom, Egg, Chicken, Camelids计划,或者简称为MECC,该计划勇于探索来自一种生物体的物质是否可以迁移到另外一种物种的生物体上。

 

科恩将MECC项目在2017年的Design Indaba大会上介绍给世人,其中包括相关的工作人员Govera和科学家Jean-Jacques Cassiman。通过这一次的推广,他的主要目的是想公众展示人类在行星超级有机体中扮演的角色和我们与其他物种之间的生态文化的联系。

 

科恩认为“这个计划美妙的地方就在于他与自由有关,如果来自比利时的鸡和法国的鸡进行杂交,它们下一代的鸡种就打破了国界实现了自由。我们没有人为选择最好的基因,没有给它们带来任何的人为影响。我们给这些鸡种完全自由的繁殖方式,这种方式和创造überchicken的正好相反。(PCC、CCP)是关于开放遗传学的研究,你无法预测结果是好是坏,唯一能做的就是相信这是一次人类对自由和生存的积极探索。”

 

 

相关信息

 

比利时艺术家 科恩•凡麦克伦是一个位享誉国际的概念型艺术家。他的作品更多的注重于生物多样性,身份和社会性。他最出名的作品就是行星鸡舍计划(CCP),在这个计划中,他将来自不同国家的驯养鸡进行杂交繁育,在这个有寓意性和远瞻性的作品中,令人们深思生物多样是如何影响全球文化和遗传学的。

 

科恩围绕CCP计划的科学研究合作为他赢得了无数奖项,其中包括2013年的Golden Nica Hybrid艺术奖(金尼卡奖,属于电子艺术大奖三大奖项其中一项,全球最为知名且历史久远的艺术大奖之一)。凡麦克伦的作品几乎在每个大洲上都展示过,并且他是威尼斯双年展的固定嘉宾。自2018年春季起,他的研究重点会转移到La Biomista美术馆,Genk前公共动物园,凡麦克伦正在将这里转化为一个生存实验室,在这里,文化、自然和人类找到了 一种新的可持续发展的平衡。

 

Pedigree – Cosmopolitan Chicken Project © Koen Vanmechelen, 2019
Planetary Community Chicken at De Hoev (BE), 2016 © Koen Vanmechelen
Cosmopolitan Chicken Project, Dakart, Biennial of Senegal, 2010 © Koen Vanmechelen

Date

2018年12月18日