XI·ART MUSEUM (Xi, Stream in Chinese)

 

Xi·Art Museum located in the Lucitopia Town, Fuzhou City, Jiangxi Province, China. A wall-less open-air art museum is planned along a 7km stream in the valleys of Zixi Qingliang Mountain. With tranquil and pleasant environment, it resembles another time and another world. Lying at the foot of the Wuyi Mountains in the Northern side, it is about two hours’ drive from the urban center of Fuzhou. Thanks to its distance from the city center, the natural landscape of Zixi Qingliang Mountain, upon which the museum is planned, has been well-preserved. The dense forest abundant in negative ions and the gurgling stream free of excessive human traces undoubtedly make the Xi·Art Museum one of a kind.

 

Two seemingly distant concepts – stream, a natural inspiration of human art and art museum, the place preserve the memory of life – are interestingly juxtaposed and combined at the Xi·Art Museum by the romantic hypothesis “The chance meeting of the stream and the art museum”. Deconstructing the usual spatial forms and production methods of art museums, the Xi·Art Museum blends in the natural landscape of Zixi Qingliang Mountain. As time proceeds, the relationship among nature, human, and objects will be continuously redefined, organized or updated at the Xi·Art Museum, a living natural museum unfolding its unique future.

 

The Xi·Art Museum is currently in its infancy. It will begin to launch a series of projects and programs, including the Generative Project, Flowing Theater, and Forest School, inviting art practitioners, young designers, and creative groups to reside in the mountains and explore the relationship between nature cognition and sustainable life. In the end, the Xi·Art Museum also raises people’s awareness of the importance of environmental protection and sustainable development through artistic exploration and reflection.

XI·ART MUSEUM GENERATIVE PROJECT

 
The Xi·Art Museum Generative Project is an important and fundamental component of the development of the Xi·Art Museum. Different from the regular operating model of art museums, the Generative Project focuses more on open, growing, and participatory art practices and field research processes. Through long-term exchanges and cooperation with domestic and international artists, the Generative Project roots artistic creations in specific natural fields and contexts, where the creative works will be permanently preserved and displayed.
 
Xi·Art Museum Generative Project is hosted by Lucitopia Town·Zixi Qingliang Mountain and Curated by C-PLATFORM. The Project will announce its annual topics, open call the domestic and international artists through applications by individuals and groups, or proposal recommended by the referrers, and the realization of the selected proposal, contribute to the organic growth of the Xi·Art Museum.

 

 

ANNUAL TOPIC

 

Microscopic Life 

   

Not all life forms are visible to the naked eye.
   
Bacteria, fungi and viruses live inside and on us, influencing all life on earth. Not only do microbes determine our metabolic capabilities and human health, but they are also at the basis of many processes that provide us with food, medicine and materials. We use yeasts for cooking and brewing, bacteria allow for fermentation processes and artists, architects and designers have experimented with the mycelium as a sustainable biomaterial in the creative field. The way in which natural intelligence generates collaboration and connection is possibly even more astonishing.
   
The microscope and other technologies allows us to get familiar with the hidden life of microbes, triggering a new dimension in our imagination and new ways of seeing and understanding the world that surrounds us.
   

Applicant Requirements

  • In the field of contemporary art practice and natural research
  • Open to different type of medium
  • Artists, curators, designers and other creative practitioners and scientists in China and abroad

 

Number of Selected Projects

  • 10-20 pieces/sets

 

Project Supports

  • International/domestic round-trip flight tickets and transportation subsidy [no more than RMB 5,000 per person/group], lodging at appointed accommodations, shared studio space, and food [three meals per day];
  • Selected works will be supported by the Project Material Grant [the amount of funding depends on the specific proposals];
  • Professional support from project assistants during the residency process; Opportunities to participate in various exchange activities;
  • We encourage and assist applicants to apply for international cultural exchange funds to sponsor their proposals.

 

Application Timeline

  • Call for Proposals: August 1st, 2021 – July 31,2022
  • Proposal Review: up to 15 business days from the date of receiving the application materials
  • Implementation of the Proposals Selected: depends on the specific proposals

 

Steps to Apply

 

1. Applicants need to prepare the following materials:

  • Project application form (.docx or .pdf)
  • Project proposal
  • Personal website or portfolio and CV
 

2. Send application materials to : 

  • Official Email : info@c-platform.org
       [Please indicate in the subject of the email:Application for the Xi·Art Museum Generative Project]
  • The incomplete application material submission will be considered as a waiver of eligibility
  • All the submission materials can be in Chinese or English

REFERRER OF THE YEAR

team_image

MA Wen | China

Ma Wen, artist/curator/architect, senior lecturer & head of Digital Media Arts Department, Institute of Creativity and Innovation, Xiamen University. He graduated from art in cult spaces in Academy of Fine Arts Munich, Germany from 2002 to 2008, received BS in Architecture in China from 1997 to 2001. His works were exhibited at the 14th Fellbach International Sculpture Triennial, ``Youth Art in the church space St. Lukas`` in Munich, Germany, etc. His curatorial practices were ``The Time That Remains: Room No. 6`` at the Goethe-Institut in Beijing,``Nostalgic Future``, “The Unnameable City - German Video Art after 2000`` at Art Museum of Nanjing University of the Arts, etc.

team_image

Jo Wei | China

Jo Wei is a curator and researcher, and is also the founder of the Pan Bio-art Studio(PBS). Wei is currently a researcher of Art, Science and Technology(AST) in the Central Academy of Fine Arts(CAFA). Her recent research interests include BioArt, EcoArt, and the history of AST, etc.

Among the list of her many curations are Bamboo as Method (2021), Quasi-Nature: BioArt, Borderline, Laboratory (2019), Ars Electronica in Shenzhen (2019), and Ethics of Technology (2016) and Post-Life(2018), respectively part of the first and second editions of the Beijing Media Art Biennale. She is also an International Adviser for the European Commission’s STARTS Prize (2019), and the member of the International Program Committee of ISEA (2020), the Member of Scientific committee of he International conference CONSCIOUSNESS REFRAMED (2019) and the acaemic committee of The Thinker.

team_image

WANG Che | China

Independent curator, born in Handan in 1986, now living in Beijing. Since 2010, he has been engaged in art review writing and curating, focusing on flowing, thinking and launching projects in different landforms, and emphasizing process and overall perception with the idea of walking and curating. Planned exhibition: “Take A Few Steps Back: from the results to the cause of the reduction”, “Strolling along the Discernible Min Jiang”, “Wild-lands”, ”Desert Residency, “Stroll:Yan shan Mountain”,“Time is irreversible”,“Black Gobi Project”,“Lost in encountering” and other projects as well as individual and group exhibitions of artists.

team_image

WANG Xiaosong | China

Art critic, Curator. Wang received his doctorate from the Chinese National Academy of Arts in 2015. He has worked at He Xiangning Art Museum from 2006-2012, and engaged in post-doctoral research at the Tsinghua University from 2015-2017. Wang curated and participated in several important exhibitions and art projects, such as The Art and Life of He Xiangning: Mapping, Illustrating, and Documenting the Landscape of History-the Ten-Year Anniversary of the He Xiangning Art Museum, Hypallage: The Post-Modern Mode of Chinese Contemporary Art (OCT Art and Design Gallery), Asia Cruise: Evidence (Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts), Zhou Chunya: New Works (Macau Museum of Art), Utopias/Heterotopia-Wuzhen International Contemporary Art Exhibition (Wuzhen), Xu Bing Solo Exhibition (Wuhan United Art Museum), Now Is the Time: 2019 Wuzhen Contemporary Art Exhibition (Wuzhen). Since 2011, he has started to write art review columns for Chinese Contemporary Art News Magazine, Hi Art and DBL. His books include Under the Sight and Kan Tai-keung: Shen Du Xin Dao -- Design, Art and Education Based on Chinese Culture (coauthor).

team_image

Yasmine Ostendorf | the Netherlands

Researcher, Curator, and the Head of the Lab for Nature Research at the Jan van Eyck Academy in Maastricht (NL). She has been undertaking research across Asia, Latin America and Europe on artists proposing alternative ways of living and working. She has extensively worked on international cultural mobility programs and on the topic of art and ecology, having worked for expert organizations such as Julie’s Bicycle (UK), Bamboo Curtain Studio, Cape Farewell (UK) and Trans Artists (NL). She runs the Green Art Lab Alliance, a network of 45 cultural organizations in Europe and Asia that explores, questions, and addresses our social and environmental responsibility. She’s the initiator of the Van Eyck Food Lab (2018), and Future Material Bank (2020). She is the author of the series of guides “Creative Responses to Sustainability” published by the Asia-Europe Foundation (SG) and the Ecologic Institute (DE).

team_image

YANG Jian | China

Yang Jian has worked primarily in video and installation. He received a BA (2004) and MA(2007) from the Art College of Xiamen University and was a resident artist at the Rijksakademie Van beeldende Kunsten in Netherlands from 2009 to 2010, supported with funding from Stichting Niemeijer Fonds (NL). He won the Judging Panel Special Award of HUAYU Youth Award in 2015. He has exhibited extensively in solo and group exhibitions in international and national, such as:ZKM | Center for Art and Media (DE); NJPAC | Nam June Paik Art Center (KR); UCCA | Center for Contemporary Art (CN); PSA | Power Station of Art (CN); NAMOC | The National Art Museum of China,etc.

What News

Intellectual Property

The selected works will be presented in the permanent collection of the organizer, and the copyright of the work belongs to the author;The author must be the original author of the proposal and enjoys copyright in accordance with the law.

The author guarantees that the submitted proposal will not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other organization or individual. Any disputes incurred, all legal liabilities and losses to the organizer shall be borne by the author;The organizer has the right to promote, publish, exhibit and give proposal implement suggestions for selected projects and works.

 

The Environmentally Friendly Principle

In view of the principle of sustainable development and the location of the Xi·Art Museum in the natural woodland of Qingliang Mountain National Park, were commend that the works proposed utilize renewable, green, and natural materials.

 
Additional Notes

Due to the global impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, if the author of the selected proposal cannot make the trip because of the public transportation lockdown, the project staff will have further communication with the participant for the implementation of the proposed project, to coordinating the realization of the selected project proposal.

Due to the project site is located in a rural and natural wildness environment, participants are requested to strictly abide by laws and regulations, local customs and traditions, take care of local flora and fauna, and be aware of safety precautions during the stay in Lucitopia Town.


    
HOST:

Lucitopia Town, Zixi Qingliang Mountain
    

CURATE:

C-PLATFORM Institute
 

SPECIAL THANKS TO:

Green Art Lab Alliance (EU), China Residencies, Chinese European Art Centre, Trans Artists, TAL (BR), On the Move
 

 

LUCITOPIA RESIDENCY PROGRAM

 
The Lucitopia Residency features an international residency program planned and initiated by the C-PLATFORM that involves researchers and practitioners from different backgrounds of interdisciplinary and mixed-media studies to explore the possibilities of specific spatial fields. The Lucitopia Residency programs include different types of urban and rural spaces, natural fields, and special geographical environments. By focusing on specific field characteristics, problems and demands, it invites practitioners from different disciplines to join the resident creation and research, and share experiences on topics such as future ecology, nature stories, organic urban and rural, sustainable life based on the local environment and context.

溪·美术馆

 

溪·美术馆位于中国江西省抚州市资溪县清凉山鹿栖小镇内,山谷之间沿溪流而规划一座无墙露天美术馆,溪流环线全长7公里;境内森林茂密,溪水潺潺,幽静宜人,好似世外桃源。溪·美术馆毗邻武夷山脉北麓,距抚州市约2小时车程,正由于地处相对偏远,并无过多人文景观,却因此完整保留了原始的生态面貌;每立方厘米36万个负氧离子含量的无痕森林,让这片小宇宙别有洞天。

 

“当溪流遇见美术馆”一个看似浪漫的假想,将两个遥远的点,即溪流,人类艺术的元初之地;美术馆,生命记忆的留存之所并置在了同一时空中。通常意义上的美术馆空间形态与生产方式被消解后置入自然场域空间中,与光、空气和温度完美发酵。随着时空的推移,自然、人、物的关系在这里不断地被重新定义、组合或是更新。一座会呼吸的自然美术馆正在以其自身特有的方式开启它的未来之旅。

 

溪·美术馆目前处于起步阶段。溪·美术馆将陆续推出生成计划、流剧场、森林学院等系列项目与活动,邀约艺术实践者、青年设计师、创作群体驻足山野,共同探寻自然认知和永续生活的关系;将艺术实践与人文思考留存于溪涧,以提高人们对自然林地与社会环境的价值认知和保护意识,促进人与生态的平衡发展。

溪·美术馆生成计划

 

溪·美术馆生成计划是溪·美术馆发展的重要构成和基础版块。有别于常规意义上的美术馆运行模式,溪·美术馆生成计划更加注重开放式、生长式、参与式的艺术创作实践与田野研究过程。通过长期与国内外的艺术家交流合作,让艺术创作深度根植于特定的自然场域与语境中,并将作品永久收藏展示于此。
  
溪·美术馆生成计划由鹿栖小镇·资溪清凉山主办,C-PLATFORM策划出品。计划将以年度发布持续招募、国内外艺术家及群体自主申请、国际年度推选人参与方案推荐、入选方案驻地创作实现的形式,促成美术馆的有机生长。

 

 

年度主题

 

微观之下 

 

并非所有的生命形式都是肉眼可见的。

 

细菌、真菌和病毒生活在我们体内和身上,影响着地球上的所有生命。微生物不仅决定了我们的新陈代谢能力和健康状况,也是人类获取食物、药品和材料等许多过程的基础。我们使用酵母进行烹饪和酿造,细菌使发酵过程得以进行;创新领域的艺术家、建筑师和设计师将菌丝体作为一种可持续的生物材料进行实验;自然智慧所呈现的协作和联结方式更是让人为之惊叹。

 

微观和其他技术使隐秘的微生世界得以可见,也激活了我们的想象维度,以及看待和理解周围世界的新方法。

  
招募对象
  • 申请人主要为当代艺术创作与自然研究领域
  • 创作媒介不限
  • 国内外具有一定创作与研究经验的艺术家、策展人、设计师、科学家等创作与科研群体
 
招募方案数量
  • 10-20件/组
 
项目支持
  • 国际/国内往返机票与交通费补助[每人/组不超过5000元人民币]、指定住宿、共享工作室及一日三餐
  • 入选作品方案将获得驻地创作材料费支持[资助金额视具体作品方案沟通协商确定]
  • 驻地创作过程中获得项目助理的专业支持,还有机会参与各类交流活动
  • 我们鼓励并协助申请者积极申请国际文化交流资金支助您个人的申请方案

 

申请时间
  • 方案征集时间:2021年8月1日 — 2022年7月31日
  • 方案评选时间:收到申请材料后15个工作日内予以回复
  • 作品实现时间:视具体作品方案沟通协商确定

 

申请方式
1.申请人需准备以下材料:
  • 完整填写项目申请表(.doc or .pdf
  • 作品方案与计划
  • 个人网站或作品集、个人简历

 

2.发送申请材料:
  • 唯一指定官方邮箱  info@c-platform.org[邮件标题请注明:溪·美术馆生成计划申请]
  • 未提交完整申请材料将被视为放弃申请资格

年度推选人

team_image

马文 | 中国

艺术家/策展人/建筑师,厦门大学创意与创新学院数字媒体艺术教研室主任。德国慕尼黑美术学院毕业,宗教空间与艺术空间的造型硕士。作品参展于第14届德国Fellbach国际雕塑三年展,德国慕尼黑“Youth Art in the church space St.Lukas”等,策展于北京歌德学院“剩余的时间-房间6号”影像展,南艺美术馆“怀旧的未来”展览,“无名城市-2000年之后的德国影像艺术”展览等艺术项目。

team_image

魏颖 | 中国

魏颖是一位策展人、研究者,她近期的研究及兴趣方向为后人类语境下的科技艺术,包括生物艺术、人工智能与生态艺术,科技艺术史及策展研究等。

她策划和参与策划的项目包括《准自然——生物艺术、边界与实验室》(2019)、《竹子作为方法》(2021)等,并担任欧盟科技艺术奖-STARTS的国际顾问(2019)、ISEA国际项目委员会委员(2020)、“信睿周报”学术委员会委员(2020)等。她曾在台北艺术大学、奥地利林茨电子艺术节、中国科学院神经所、中国科学院自然科学史研究所、尤伦斯当代艺术中心、北京大学、中山大学及国内各大美院进行讲座和工作坊。她在中央美术学院开设“生物艺术”、“生态艺术”等课程,亦在信睿周报开设“科技艺术+”专栏。

team_image

王澈 | 中国

独立策展人,1986年生于邯郸,现居北京。2010年至今一直从事艺术评论写作和策展工作,注重在不同地貌中流动、思考并展开项目,并以行走策展的理念强调过程与整体感知。曾策划:“后退几步:从结果向原因还原”、“绵绵若存走岷江”、“莽原”、“沙漠驻留”、“燕山散步”、“时间不可逆”、“黑戈壁计划”、“走神”等项目以及艺术家个展和群展。

team_image

王晓松 | 中国

艺术评论人、策展人。2015年毕业于中国艺术研究院,获博士学位。2006-2012年供职于何香凝美术馆,2015-2017年在清华大学从事博士后研究工作。策划及参与策划的部分展览有:“何香凝艺术的地·图·志——何香凝美术馆建馆十周年展览”(何香凝美术馆)、“移花接木——中国当代艺术的后现代方式”(华·美术馆)、“亚洲巡弋——物证”(关渡美术馆)、“始终是开始——周春芽(2015)”(澳门艺术博物馆)、“乌托邦·异托邦——乌镇国际当代艺术邀请展”(乌镇)、徐冰大型同名个展(武汉合美术馆)、“时间开始了——2019乌镇当代艺术邀请展”(乌镇)等。策展之外,注重以艺术家个案研究、文献编辑的方式介入当代艺术,先后为《当代艺术新闻》《Hi艺术》、“打边炉”等艺术媒体撰写专栏。著有《视线之下》及《靳埭强:身度心道——中国文化为本的设计、艺术与教育》(合著)。

team_image

亚斯曼·奥斯腾多夫 | 荷兰

研究员、策展人、荷兰扬•凡•艾克学院自然研究实验室主任;她长期活跃于亚洲、拉丁美洲和欧洲间的国际文化交流、艺术与环境项目的策划及研究,并在国际上多个艺术与生态项目/机构中工作,例如Julies Bicycle(英国)、竹园工作室(中国台湾)、Cape Farewell(英国)以及Trans Artists(荷兰)。她创办/主持的绿色艺术实验联盟(Green Art Lab Alliance),将欧洲与亚洲45家文化机构联结在一起,共同探讨研究人类对社会及环境的责任;她还是凡·艾克食物艺术电影节(2018)和未来材料银行(2020)的发起人,亚欧基金会(新加坡)和生态研究所(德国)共同出版的《Creative Responses to Sustainability》系列丛书的作者。

team_image

杨健 | 中国

艺术家,主要从事录像和装置创作。他分别于2004及2007年在厦门大学艺术学院被授予文学学士与文学硕士学位。2009年至2010年间,他入选荷兰皇家美术学院的国际驻地艺术家项目,并于2010年获得荷兰Stichting Niemeijer基金会赞助支持。2015年他获得华宇青年奖评委会特别奖。他的作品多次在国际知名的画廊、机构及公立美术馆展出。如:ZKM 媒体艺术中心,NJP 白南准艺术中心,UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心,PSA上海当代艺术博物馆,中国美术馆等。

最新动态

 
 
知识产权相关
入选作品将被主办方永久收藏及落地,著作版权归创作者所有;创作者必须是创作方案的原创作者,并依法享有著作权。
创作者保证提交的创作方案不会侵犯任何其他组织和个人的知识产权,若如此造成任何纠纷,一切法律责任及给主办方造成的损失由作者承担;主办方拥有入选方案及作品宣传、出版、展览及实施建议等方面的权利。
   
环境友好原则
鉴于可持续发展的理念与溪·美术馆地处清凉山国家森林公园自然林地场域,我们倡导、建议申请方案更多使用可再生、绿色自然的创作材料。
   
特别说明
鉴于新冠疫情在全球范围内的影响,方案入选的创作者若因交通原因而无法如期成行,项目工作人员将与创作者进一步沟通协调,尽力促成项目的落地。
鉴于项目地点位于自然村落与野外环境,请严格遵守相关法律法规、在地风俗习惯,爱护动植物,并加强工作生活的安全防范意识。 
   

       
主办
鹿栖小镇·资溪清凉山
   
策划
C-PLATFORM 研究中心
  
特别感谢
GALA绿色艺术实验室联盟、中国艺术交流、中国欧洲艺术中心、Trans Artists、巴西TAL科技艺术实验室、On the Move
   

 

鹿栖驻地

鹿栖驻地是由C-PLATFORM策划发起的一个由跨学科、跨专业、跨媒介等不同背景的研究者和实践者共同参与,探讨特定空间场域可能性的国际驻地计划。鹿栖驻地计划将与不同类型的城乡空间、自然场域及特殊地理环境结合生成,通过聚焦具体的场域特点和问题诉求,邀约不同领域的实践者结合在地环境和语境,就未来生态、自然故事、有机城乡、永续生活等议题的驻地创作研究和参与经验分享。