Stillness, Movement and Transience

C-PLATFORM × Stephanie Rhode

 

Project Description

What is special about visual artist Stephanie Rhode is that in her sculptures and installations she restricts herself to one theme, the house, while at the same time she expands the field of sculpture to three dimensional art. Land art, urban art and installations, often inviting her viewers to become co-makers.

 

House

The one and only theme in the oeuvre of Stephanie Rhode (1964, Weissenburg-Germany, lives and works in Amsterdam/ The Netherlands) is the house. She has chosen an architectural form for her sculptures and installations, form and theme coincide. Why? Because in our hectic society the house for her, and I dare say for many of her viewers as well, symbolizes inner peace, quiet, and protection. To underline this symbol function she has reduced the house to its basic form, recognizable for everyone.Rhode makes houses in all sizes, from minuscule to big enough to walk around in,and makes houses of all kinds of materials: stone, bronze, silver, iron, corten steel, glass, ceramics, textile, stressing by her choice of materials special characteristics of the house.

 

Expanding the field of sculpture

By choosing an architectural form as her only theme Rhode explores the boundaries between sculpture and architecture. Usually her houses remain sculptures, representing the house, but sometimes her houses become real crossovers between sculpture and architecture, as in the empty version of ‘Save’, where the viewer can enter the house, thus becoming part of the artwork and even co-maker.

 

Rhode also likes to expand the field of sculpture by looking for alternative surroundings for her houses, like a tree, a beach or a city. In these settings she uses not one but hundreds of houses, turning the work into an installation, be it land art or urban art.

 

Within the first category falls ‘Sandhouses- project’  which she created three times: at Langeoog (2007, Germany) , Katwijk (2008, The Netherlands) and Xiamen (China). Rhode’s aim was to represent transience in a striking and unforgettable way. She showed that nothing is fixed, that everything is in constant flux. At low tide she created 3000 sand houses on the beach which were gradually flooded with the high tide coming in. In six hours all the houses were gone; the beach was completely flat again. Because of the little time in which to create the installation she turned to the local population for help. Together making the work and together seeing it disappear again was as important as the temporary result.

 

With the knitted houses for Gunzenhausen (2011, Germany) Rhode went even further. She installed 490 houses on the marketplace which she gave the title ‘490 knitted houses, lest we forget’. The second part of the title shows Rhode’s intention: to commemorate all the Jewish citizens who for centuries have lived in Gunzenhausen. Not out of a sense of guilt for the ones who never returned to their houses after World War II, but as a tribute to their and their ancestors’ existence. To underline that the installation was about remembering and letting go, Rhode had placed each house next to a cobblestone covered with gold leaf. When, after two days, the houses were removed, again these cobblestones stayed behind to remind passers-by of these houses and what they had stood for. But also the layers of gold leaf have slowly faded away.

Text by Sya van ‘t Vlie (MA)

 

Related Information

www.stephanierhode.nl

 

Special Thanks: Chinese European Art Center

Date

2015年1月6日

Category

talk

静止、移动和瞬间

C-PLATFORM × 斯蒂芬妮 · 罗德岛

 

项目简介

斯蒂芬妮的艺术别样之处在于她的唯一主题:房子。

她的作品多以雕塑与装置形式呈现,观众参与互动的雕塑作品,不断拓展雕塑艺术与大地艺术、城市艺术以及装置艺术空间形态的外延。

 

房子

斯蒂芬妮所有的作品都是围绕房子这一主题展开。她为什么会选择房子的建筑造型开启她的创作之旅?在她看来,对于包括她在内大部分的现代人,这座房子更像是一种内心的平静、安宁和安全感象征。斯蒂芬妮根据创作情景的需要,简化房子的造型,并用尝试以不同尺寸和材料进行创作。

 

雕塑空间的外延

斯蒂芬妮借用房子的建筑造型探索雕塑与建筑之间的界限。她的房子通常以雕塑的形式呈现,但有时却是雕塑与建筑的结合体。在作品《 保存 》中,进入到空置房子中的观众,变成了作品的一部分,甚至是房子的共同创作者。斯蒂芬妮总是不断寻找相应的环境以拓展雕塑外延的空间;如:一棵树、一片沙滩或是一座城市。在这样的环境中,不只是一个,乃至是上百个房子与空间联系在一起。

在2007朗格奥格(德国)、2008卡特维克(荷兰)和2014厦门(中国),她曾三度创作了《 沙屋 – 项目 》。作品主要传达一种显而易见而又转瞬即逝的概念,没有什么是一成不变的,一切都在永恒的变化之中。在退潮的海滩上创作 3000 个沙屋,随着潮汐的变化,在6小时之内全部被潮水淹没,沙滩回到平静如初的样子。在这过程中,与当地人分享创作的短暂存在与感知消失,两者一样重要。

在2011年的贡岑豪森(德国)斯蒂芬妮创作了另外一件名为《 490个针织屋,以免我们忘了 》作品中,更进一步地阐释了她创作的理念。她在贡岑豪森的城市广场放置了四百九十个针织屋,以此纪念在贡岑豪森居住过的犹太人,向他们和他们的祖先的生活致敬。这件装置作品强调的是回忆和释怀。她还在每一个针织屋旁放了一个包着金色叶子的鹅卵石。两天后,所有的房子被移走了,但那些鹅卵石会让路人回忆起那些针织屋。当然,鹅卵石上的金色叶子也会随着时间慢慢消失。

 

相关信息

斯蒂芬妮·罗德岛

1964年生于德国维森布尔格,现工作和生活于荷兰阿姆斯特丹

www.stephanierhode.nl

 

特别感谢:中国欧洲艺术中心

Date

2015年1月6日

Category

对话

Tags
对话