To My Dearest, When I’m Gone

C-PLATFORM × Zhang Qianyu

 

Written at the outset | Zhang Qianyu

Each time when elders in my surrounding came to the talk about “death”, I was instantly frightened. From that remote time on, I have been horrified by “death”. Not even a thought would I entertain, let alone to face the death of someone in my near.

 

We as human beings encounter and part with people every single day, “death” therefore is also hard to elude. We can not control it, no matter how much we want it. Though I am always of the conviction that death is not the ultimate closure of life. It will continue in some other form of life, and therefore it could be a new beginning.

 

Collected in this picture book are stories about “death” from real life, abstracting eight different life forms selected from nature, used as metaphors of what actually happed in reality. My stories are consisted of these eight fables, narrating the transmigration of life and death.

 

Of these eight life forms ( ie. mud, ant, leaf, stone, turtle, fish, sea and bee), each story is somehow linked to the others whereas each one again stands alone in its metaphorical meaning of the various deaths we will be facing in our life’s journey. From the solid ground we tramp on to up in the air, then back on the ground again (came from dust and return to dust), this yet indicates the transmigration of life.

 

Related Information

Zhang Qianyu

Graduated from Xiamen University Jiageng College of Art and Design Department of Visual Communication Design.

Date

2016年5月31日

Category

talk

如果我死了,献给最亲爱的你

C-PLATFORM × 张倩玉

 

写在前面的话|张倩玉

在小时候听到周围大人讲到关于死亡的话题的时候都让我感觉很害怕,从那个时候起就对死亡充满恐惧。我不想死更不想面对周围人的逝去。

其实我们每时每刻都在与身边的人和事物相遇和离别,每天我们都在面对着“死亡”这是不能去控制也没办法控制的。但是我一直相信死亡并不是生命的绝对终结,它会以另一种生命的形式而存在,它也会成为新的开始。

绘本中收集现实生活关于 “ 死亡 ” 的故事,将现实生活的故事用自然界其中的八个生命来隐喻。组成我的故事文本,关于生死轮回的8个寓言故事。

其中有这八个物体(泥土,蚂蚁,树叶,石头,乌龟,鱼,大海,蜜蜂)每个故事形象都有联系但每个故事又是在单独隐喻着我们生命旅途需要面对的不同的 “ 死亡 ” ,从地上到天上最后又到了地上(从泥土开始最后又回到泥土)这象征着生命的轮回。

 

相关信息

张倩玉

毕业于厦门大学嘉庚学院艺术设计系视觉传达设计专业

 

作品版权,归属原作者

Date

2016年5月31日

Category

对话