THE FUTURE OF NOSTALGIA 2

C-PLATFORM × Ma Wen

 

Project Information

Duration: 2016. 06. 25 – 07. 08

Venue: C-PLATFORM

Support:

Digital Media Art Department  of Xiamen University Art College

MEXDIA Creactivity & Technology

Media Partner:

DESIGN XIAMEN

 

Curator:

MA Wen

Designers:

YANG Jing/ GUO Xiaoya/ YANG Zhiqian/ LIU Huaji/ KANG Linyue/ ZHENG Qi/ ZHONG Chenxi/ PAN Feifei/ LIANG Lin / ZHONG Zheming/ XIONG Qin/ CAO Shumo/ TANG Qiong/ MA Wen/ YANG Yi/ WANG Hai Qing/ WENG Yahui/ ZHAO Shu

 

Project Description

In present China, nostalgia element is overwhelming, from blossoming of false antique cities, to dramas of Qing Dynasty and culture revolution filling the screen, and to all kinds of “minty style” vintage stores. It’s not too much to say it is an era of nostalgia. As is said by the Italian writer Umberto Eco: “we are approaching a new medieval with advanced technology.”

 

In the 17th century, nostalgia is considered a disease that can heal; while at present, it is more like a modern disease that can never heal. Svetlana Boym, an American scholar defined two kinds of nostalgias in her work “The Future of Nostalgia”: restorative nostalgia and reflective nostalgia. The former focus on transcending the history and rebuilding the lost homes and monuments. While the latter emphasizes in thought above the ruins and wandering on the trace of time and history, with putting forward a idea that, “without reflection, the nostalgia would make demons”.

 

Similarly, in the field of Chinese contemporary design, all kinds of restorative nostalgia is nothing new. People who lost their breath under the great pressure of modern life, start to yearn for a slower pace of life, even if it only means a new Chinese decoration style, or Ming&Qing style furniture without any handmade elements, or printed china made by machines, etc. People of modern fetishism convert this nostalgia into a simple and effective way of identity. They want to obtain a moment of tranquility and true feeling in the process of symbol consumption.

 

Not yet been established, the modern design culture of China sets a foot into postmodern cultural context at the same time. For example, in the 80s, German Bauhaus modern design and education system are introduced in Chinese art and design schools; while in 2010, “Bauhaus Road — History/Heritage/World and China Literature Exhibition” is opened at the art gallery of Art Department of Tstinghua University. In 1991, the Chinese translated edition of “Complexity and Contradiction in Architecture” by Robert Venturi, an American post-modern architect; while in 2005, he visited Wenzhou city and spoke highly of the traditional cultural images like carp and Chinese dragon decoration on the exterior wall of the European style buildings. If the discussion of the regeneration of Europe by Jürgen Habermas and Jacques Derrida in Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung in 2003 is trying to define a new type of nostalgia, the messy expression in Chinese design cultural context needs various design events to promote the establishment of future basic values.

 

From arts&crafts to art&design, as a professional major, has a history of over a decade in China, with consumption dominating design almost completely. After the global finance crisis in 2008, when Studio Job, a design group in Netherlands acclaimed the members are artists rather than designers, Chinese young designers, on the other side of the Internet, shared the same feeling from another perspective.

 

In this era overflowing with nostalgia, some people still reject or resist nostalgia, with a sensitive and cautious attitude towards this phenomenon. The young designers and artists from Xiamen City, Fujian Province, China, won’t feel sorrow for being far away from homes or unable to reproduce the past. They use traditional materials and technologies, to find the relationship between tradition and current life. Reflective nostalgia is their only possible source of creation and spiritual home. For them, nostalgia is not a comfort, but a burden and oppression. The identity anxiety keeps telling them the modern life is like a kind of “transcendental homeless”.

 

“Nostalgia might be a social disease as well as a creative mood; a poison as well as a folk prescription.“ Past, present, and future are not a continuous whole, however, just like ghosts, they enable people to visit at the same time in parallel, leaving us in chaos to seek the possibilities hidden in the history.

By MA WEN

Date

2016年6月25日

Category

exhibition

怀旧的未来2

C-PLATFORM × 马文

 

项目信息

展期:2016. 06. 25 – 07.08

地点:C-PLATFORM

支持机构:

厦门大学艺术学院数字媒体艺术专业

厦门交叉媒体创意科技有限公司

合作媒体:

设计厦门

 

策展人:

马文

参展者:

杨晶/ 郭潇亚/ 阳芷倩/ 刘画吉/ 康琳悦/ 郑琦/ 钟晨曦/ 潘菲菲/ 梁淋/ 钟哲明/ 熊秦/ 曹舒漠/ 唐琼/ 马文/ 杨艺/ 王海清/ 翁亚辉/ 赵书(以上排名不分先后)

 

项目简介

在当下中国,从遍地开花的假古董城市到电影电视满屏的清宫戏,文革戏到各种文艺小清新的旧物店,林林总总的怀旧元素真是铺天盖地。说这是个怀旧的时代,也一点儿都不为过。如同意大利文学家 Umberto Eco 说过:“ 我们正在走近拥有先进技术的新的中世纪。”

在17世纪,怀旧被认为是一种可以医治的疾病;当下,却变成了不可治愈的现代顽疾。美国学者Svetlana Boym在其著作《怀旧的未来》界定了两种怀旧:修复型怀旧和反思型怀旧。前者着眼于力图超越历史,重建失去的纪念碑和家园。而后者强调止于怀想,在废墟上徘徊,在时间和历史的痕迹上徘徊,并提出疑问 – “ 没有得到反思的怀旧会制造出魔怪 ”。

同样在中国当代设计领域内,各种修复型怀旧恐怕早已司空见怪。被现代生活挤压得喘不过气来的人们开始向往想象中的慢节奏,尽管是新中式装饰风格的一帘幽梦,尽管是没有任何手工成分的明清式样家具,尽管是印刷贴花的机器复制的陶瓷…现代拜物教之中的人们,把这种怀旧转化成一种简单粗暴有效的身份认同方式。在消费符号的过程中,去获得片刻的安宁感和实在感。

当中国的现代设计文化尚未站稳,同时一脚也踏入了后现代的文化语境中。从八十年代德国包豪斯现代设计教育体系被介绍到中国艺术设计院校,到2010年 “ 90年:包豪斯道路-历史/遗泽/世界和中国文献展 ” 在清华大学美术学院美术馆开幕。从美国后现代主义建筑师Robert Venturi的《建筑的复杂性和矛盾性》中文译本在1991年正式出版,到2005年其在中国温州访问,对欧式建筑的外墙上修饰以鲤鱼、麒麟等中国传统文化形象大为赞赏。如果说2003年哈贝马斯与德里达联名在法兰克福汇报共同谈论欧洲的再生,是去试图明确一种新的怀旧的话,那么中国设计文化语境内一团乱麻的表述,需要用各种设计事件去促成未来基本价值的建立。

从工艺美术到艺术设计,国内艺术设计作为专业学科已有十余年的历史,消费的力量几乎完全统治了设计。2008年全球金融危机以后,荷兰设计师组合Studio Job明确宣称自己不是设计师,而是艺术家的时候,通过互联网的信息传播,中国年轻设计师们也从另外一种角度的心有戚戚然。

在这个泛滥着怀旧气息的时代里,却仍有那么些人拒绝或者抵抗怀旧,他们以一种敏感谨慎的态度对待这种现象。这些来自中国福建厦门的年轻设计师和艺术家并不会为背井离乡而忧伤,也不会为既往无法重现而悲情。他们使用了传统材料和工艺技术,他们去寻找传统和当下生存的彼此联系。而反思性怀旧是他们现在唯一可能的创作源泉和精神家园,对他们而言,怀旧不是一种抚慰,却成为了一种压迫与负担。身份的焦虑无时无刻不在告诉他们,现代生活如同一种“超验的无家可归”。

“怀旧可能既是一种社会疾病,又是一种创造性的情绪,既是一种毒药,又是一个偏方。” 往昔、当下与未来并不是一个连绵不断的整体,而它们鬼魅般在同一时段让人不知所措的平行而入,而我们只能在喧嚣之中,去追问历史所隐藏的种种可能。

– 马文

 

相关信息

作品版权归属原作者

 

Date

2016年6月25日

Category

展览

Tags
展览